Dunya – A Brief Sojourn

Can you read the silence?

O treader of the joyful life!

When foliage turns brown,

And the chirping of leaves sound

Under my feet…

O treader of the joyful life!

Can you hear me moan?

When the steam engine..

Crosses my being,

And gives off the grey smoke,

From the coal chimney vent.

O treader of the joyful life!

You bow to me…

And I in all my grieves…

Gaze you.

When a translucent layer,

Hurdles in between,

I wave you my last farewell

O treader of the joyful life!

Will you return my farewell bid?

Because the archangel is nearly arrived

And I cannot ask him to wait,

For he hath waited for me…

All my life, In my unconsciousness.

O treader of the joyful life!

O treader of the joyful life!

The poem has been published at Muslim Words Blog.

Leave a Reply

