Wearing the Jilbab as a Muslim Woman: Do Not Discard This Dress Under Duress

Reblogging the post from Sadaffarooqi.com

Sadaf's Space

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَـنِ الرَّحِيمِ

It’s no secret that I have little patience for elaborate and time-consuming endeavors when it comes to ladies dressing up.

I all but have to force my eyes not to roll whenever I behold the demands of a diva as she goes on about having a bad hair day, or worse, how the tailor ‘completely messed up’ her outfit because one particular line of flower-patterns in the floral print of her shirt is not aligned perfectly in parallel with the border lace. [*yawn*]

As a bride, I was huffing and puffing under the heavy weight of the combined duo of my blood-red, intricately embroidered gharara and it’s dupatta. Had I had my way, the beautiful but extensive kaam (embroidery and bead-work) on both would have been much more sparse and light, allowing me more ease of movement and a greater ability to breathe…

View original post 2,995 more words

Leave a Reply

