A Letter to my Friend – Trusting Allah SWT

This article has been published in “The Intellect” magazine’s December January 2016 volume.

Read the original here.

Dear Friend,

And He found you lost and guided [you].

(Suratu Dhuhaa: 7)

I watched you as you wiped out your flowing tears. I don’t know what have caused these, I hope that I can be of some help to you. I know how you are carrying the weight of the baggage of life. It hurts me and I pray for you. We all are linked someway in the most common essence like a pendulum motion swaying to and fro. Being gay when we move towards one side and getting woo-ed as we move to the other.

I know showing patience like you do is remarkable, but my dear in these dark nights the morning rays promise to shine each day. We just have to keep our faith intact. Hard bound faith as Prophet Yaqub AS showed when Prophet Jonah A.S was away from him. Do we have those kinds of grieves ? I don’t know. I just hope that you stay strong in the face of the world. That you be the representation of the character of our Prophet Muhammad PBUH when he endured the hardships occurred in the valley of Taif. I know this life irritates you too much.

But I can state what Allah states in His divine book;

Your Lord has not taken leave of you, [O Muhammad], nor has He detested [you].

(Suratu Dhuhaa: 3)

It consoles me a great deal and it should to you, as well. I listen to you silently as you take heaves of sighs but believe me when darkness is shed, only light peeps in. It’s going to be better if it cannot be excellent.

As Asma Hussein writes;

“Better because God doesn’t leave the believers to themselves even for the blink of an eye. Better because He is the Wali, close friend and protector, of the believers. Better because everything He plans for us is to strengthen us and push us to stand up and walk forward with faith confidence.”

 Because He says;

And the Hereafter is better for you than the first [life].

(Suratu Dhuhaa: 4)

And Because;

And your Lord is going to give you, and you will be satisfied.

(Suratu Dhuhaa: 5)

O our Wali and omnipotent, shed away the darkness of our sins from us and subject us to true serenity of your love and mercy. Allahumma ameen.

Leave a Reply

