A Letter to My Friend: Learning to Love Him through Trials

Dear Friend,

It has already happened. Look around.

Fairytales do exist. On this earth.

But for those of them to realise we have to work really hard. The darkness breeds and the light will shine only onto those whom He wills. And He wills for those He has tested and those who are the successful believers. Who have never put Him aside.

Who have never sold Him for an inferior amount.

Who have never sold their Yousuf for an inferior amount.

I know things are not easy for you. The tests are not easy. It requires hard core faith.

When I say hard core faith the ayah of Qur’an resonates in my mind…وَالَّذِينَ آمَنُوا أَشَدُّ حُبًّا لِّلَّهِ

But those who believe are stronger in love for Allah.

(Suratul Baqarah: 165)

It interprets for the believers are extreme in His love. You know what happens when we extremely love someone? We do as the beloved pleases. We do ALL the things and follow all his commands and orders only to get his affectionate sight, his smiling face or his love. Why our love is so deficient? Why it has holes in it? Why we are munafiq in loving Allah SWT. The taqaza of His love is that we take what he gives and abandons what he asks us to. But we are so unfortunate that even our salah is pointless…for if it was correct we were true mo’mins…isn’t it? I often think.

And this is why I ask you today even though it’s your personal aqeedah trait that if you think that shoving off your face veil will hinder the demons of all possible rishtas and you will get the most best one. Then know that our prime step is wrong in its entirety. Our society does not allow us to carry it but even if I carry it I carry for Him.

I might never have met Muhammad had not veil been a mercy for me. Look at me. I am one case too. My Niqab did not lower me down. He did not turn me down instead his condition was veil. Alhamdulillah. It ushered me up and Allah has blessed me. Alhamdulillah. Then my dear why cannot it happen in your case as well?

“Trials?”

Yes, I did go berserk in the process. But why indeed should we say that. If there was anything that consoled me it was the verses of Qur’an.

Therefore I ask you, It has already happened. Look around.

It has happened. It has already happened.

The wheels will churn for you too. It will happen for you too.

On one condition.

وَمِنَ النَّاسِ مَن يَتَّخِذُ مِن دُونِ اللَّهِ أَندَادًا يُحِبُّونَهُمْ كَحُبِّ اللَّهِ ۖ وَالَّذِينَ آمَنُوا أَشَدُّ حُبًّا لِّلَّهِ ۗ

And [yet], among the people are those who take other than Allah as equals [to Him]. They love them as they [should] love Allah . But those who believe are stronger in love for Allah .

2 thoughts on “A Letter to My Friend: Learning to Love Him through Trials

  1. Working on your faith and your relationship with Allah makes you a much stronger and ultimately a much better person. It’s worth the time and effort it takes.

    Your emphasis on the love for Allah reminds me of this little but powerful note from Rumi:

    “I said: what about my eyes?
    He said: Keep them on the road.

    I said: What about my passion?
    He said: Keep it burning.

    I said: What about my heart?
    He said: Tell me what you hold inside it?

    I said: Pain and sorrow.
    He said: Stay with it. The wound is the place where the Light enters you.”

    Thank you very much, Namra for sharing this heart-touching post. Hope Allah gives us all the wisdom to choose the right path and the courage to keep ourselves on it. Ameen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

