Makkah Diaries: Visiting Him – Part-2

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَـنِ الرَّحِيمِ

The decision was made for me.

Yes, I was going to visit his house baitullah…house of Allah with Muhammad this time for good. Who would say I have thought of it? As unbelievable as it sounded, I began to count Allah SWT’s blessings sure they were nth and my counting a bajillion times would not give them their due.

Was I going to meet Him in His house?

Was the little girl who would look up to Papa’s face was really called this time?

Has Allah SWT really heard her wishes when she asked from her in-depth caves of heart?

Indeed He did.

The decision was made for me. Alhamdulillah.

Muhammad and I were planning to visit Him now. This time around though was without Papa, Ammi and Dadi (May Allah rest her in peace with His ultimate Rahmah and open doors of heaven in her grave, ameen).

I was anxious, over-whelmed but content altogether.

How would it feel?

Would I be able to see the Majestic Ka’bah?

The black four cornered entity that stands as an evidence of a divine sanctuary ever since mankind has been descended on to this earth? The hands of Ibrahim A.S and Prophet Muhammad PBUH has touched whom…

What will the moment behold for me?

Am I truly going to witness the glory of noorun ‘ala noor

9:00 pm: At the crossroads

The wind of MakkahAl-Mukarramah kissed my face and being a sinful creature I embraced it. I gazed long time to the Makkah sky…stark black without the Qamr this time around. I stared the long wide metallic boards, the smooth roads, GMCs, land cruisers, Fords etcetera and finally…

Husband and I entered the hudud-e-haram after a long journey in ihram – the holy state when one performs ‘Umrah and Hajj. I knew it as we cross the monumental mushaf enthralled open in white and green afore us…subhanallah. This was just the beginning of the sacred journey we were going to make. Insha Allah.

Tears rolled down my cheeks as we crossed the hudud…was I finally in Makkah?

I looked down at my black garb and tried to grab hold of the trembling feet with my cold hands. Was the AC in the Tucson too high? I heaved in silence and the sighs were mixed with tranquility and amazement. I thanked Allah SWT under my lips that Muhammad thought I was sleeping.

Yes I was here.

This is the land where the Prophet Muhammad صلى الله عليه وسلم and his companions lived. Home to tawheed – Unity of Allah SWT and the unimaginable trials my beloved prophet صلى الله عليه وسلم and his companions went through. It’s the land that reminded me of all the seerah lessons that I listened to as an student of Islam and I finally related to. Even not that close, but we were adulating the sand under our feet.

Prayers emerged unknowingly… O Lord! Now that you have called me here make us the true ‘abd of yours. O our Wali! Accept from us and bestow us your forgiveness. Amen !

To Haram Sharif…

As we weaved our way to the Haram sharif surrounded by gigantic and majestic mountains one thought stayed long with me…

These mountains have seen the Prophet Muhammad صلى الله عليه وسلم and the Prophet Muhammad صلى الله عليه وسلم have seen them…and now 1400 years laters we are seeing them…the blessings are still here. Ain’t they?

O Allah grant us the grains of your mercy, ameen.

The crowd streamed towards haram sharif and amongst it we were two individuals hurling our way to His home. I was excited with what lay ahead. I was humbled as to where I was. I was spell-bound by His glory. I was fearful of Him. Muhammad hold my hand and kept briefing me about the dua’s we have to make for ourselves and others and of the geography of the land we were walking on.

May Allah bless him immense, ameen.

Labbaik Allah humma labbaik
Labbaik la sharika laka labbaik
In-nal hamda
Wan-ni’mata
Laka walmulk
Laa sharika lak.

O my Lord, here I am at Your service, here I am.
There is no partner with You,
here I am.
Truly the praise
and the provisions are Yours,
and so is the dominion and sovereignty.
There is no partner with You.

I recited tashreeq again while looking down.

Huge hotel buildings tried to remain erect as the crowd was flooding. They were there as long as the sight rest and amidst them the classic abraj al-bait – the clock tower. The needles were ticking and as astonish as I already was by the magnanimity of the place I finally witnessed a sense of déjà vu.

The image of that little girl having her breakfast of layered parathas and chai in the courtyard loomed in my mind. This is the same place! Papa ammi dadi look I am here again! I wanted to scream. Oh much I missed them! Words clogged in my throat yet my vision was continuously hindering and blurred.

Men, women and kids amassed the courtyard of haram sharif. A continuous rumble and hustle was in the air with the soul piercing fragrance of haram sharif’s cleaning surf. I misunderstood it for the divine place’s habitual fragrance and Muhammad corrected me.

The floor was as brightly white as the moon’s light. The crowd was as if they have forgotten to sleep and praying was the only important thing right then.

 And why not it be?

Towards Mataf

Escalating our way barefoot towards the mataf …Muhammad asked me to lower the gaze so that when I rest my eyes on Ka’bah I can have the first glance and pray. I was an amateur…I did as I was told. And then out of a sudden ka’abah loomed in front of us with hundreds of people belonging to varied ethnicities circumambulating. The holy sanctuary stood there for millions and millions of Muslims visiting it every part of the day from around the globe.

And then among those millions I was a fraction of His chosen ones.

I was here.

Labbaik Allah humma labbaik
Labbaik la sharika laka labbaik
In-nal hamda
Wan-ni’mata
Laka walmulk
Laa sharika lak.

O my Lord, here I am at Your service, here I am.
There is no partner with You,
here I am.
Truly the praise
and the provisions are Yours,
and so is the dominion and sovereignty.
There is no partner with You.

A sudden gush of hot tears overflowed and continued and a hard lump rose in the throat like a date seed. I prayed…we prayed there together what felt like an eternity not noticing who was standing beside us. We sobbed hard with hiccups that did not cease and tears that ran out. With prayers for His mercy and barakah. O Allah SWT! O our Wali!

Just then at a distance in the mataf, tip-toeing on the marbled floor of haram sharif, the little girl smiled back at me her eyes flooding with tears.

Right then with the time lapse of roughly 15 years ago the picture has fallen in its place in the canvas.

Bait-ullah…This is Allah’s home.

This is my home too. Because home is where the heart is…

Read Part 1 here.

Leave a Reply

